Can’t Knock Their Hustle: How I Became a Fan of Nollywood & Why I Support It

diminutivediva

The subject of diversity in entertainment media continues to be a topic of discussion in the United States. This was a source of frustration for me in my youth, as my desire to see myself positively represented in media in American media was often unfulfilled. Even in media created by African-Americans, racial stereotypes and Colorism abound.

However there is incremental progress being made. The last two seasons have yielded successful shows like ‘Blackish’ and ‘Fresh Off The Boat’, which center around non-White families. And though I cheer the success of these two sitcoms I didn’t have to wait for their pilots to air to find representation I enjoyed. That journey started nine years ago when I looked beyond my country and discovered Nollywood.

Oddly enough I was in East Africa when I was first exposed to Nollywood. In June 2006 I arrived in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania to meet…

View original post 716 more words

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

