OCTOBER 1ST: DID INDEPENDENCE REALLY COME TEN YEARS TOO EARLY?

EKAETE HUNTER

 ‘’…my educated opinion tells me independence has arrived too early…Lord Lugard woke up one morning in 1914, had a cup of tea and threw us all together and says, ‘Behold Nigeria’. Meanwhile the tribes can barely stand each other… Mark my words, within seven years this country would be at war…’’

Prince Aderopo in October 1st.

one of my favourite scenes october 1 ropo and tawa

I can’t really explain why my recent posts have been about movies, but this is one movie I just cannot not upload a post about. I like the fact that the movie tries to allude to the Biafran War. Was the Biafran War really about us not overcoming our ethnic differences?

Kunle Afolayan just keeps getting better. There, I said it.

Kunle Afolayan October 1 Kunle Afolayan

The movie’s title is quite misleading. At first, you get the impression that the plot would revolve around history, colonialism and political struggle for liberation. But…

View original post 658 more words

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

