Why I allowed Abacha arrest me – Obasanjo @hitcitytv

image

Former President Obasanjo has disclosed
reasons why he allowed former head of state,
Sani Abacha to arrest him in March 1995 for
allegedly conspiring abroad against the Abacha
regime, despite many opportunities to escape
and accept an offer of political asylum by the
US.
Leadership reports
Obasanjo was among the opposition lights that
were against the regime of the late Head of
State, General Sani Abacha, who ordered their
arrest, trials and sentences but spared their lives
due to international pressure. Abacha was the
most senior military officer in the illegal
contraption called Interim National Government
led by Chief Ernest Shonekan after the military
president, General Ibrahim Babangida, was
forced to resign over the historic annulment of
the June 12 June, 1993 election won by
Moshood Abiola, who later died in the military
gulag.
In his newest controversial memoir, ‘My Watch’,
he narrated his opposition to the Abacha regime
which led him to the formation of National Unity
Organisation which he intended to use to force
Abacha to quit power.
According to his narrative, Obasanjo had been
meeting with some leading politicians and non-
politicians in every part of the country on the
need to free the country from the jackboot of
Abacha whom he said, “was so much below
average as an officer that no serious attention
was paid to him until he was made to announce
the coup.
“I was not in doubt that Abacha would attempt
to silence me. This was clear from his apparent
ambition for life presidency of Nigeria in
insatiable appetite for corruption; his looting
directly from the Central Bank; his need to
silence everyone that could oppose him in any
form; his actions towards my close friends and
associates and his close surveillance of me by
his security both within and outside Nigeria.”
Obasanjo recalled how during his visit to Kenya
for the funeral of the father of the opposition
leader, Raila Odinga, where the Nigerian
Embassy officials wrote a report indicting him,
stating that “since Odinga was in opposition to
the government of Kenya when he died, I had
gone to Kenya to create problems for the Kenyan
government by supporting the opposition, and
the Nigerian government should restrain me from
causing great problems between Nigeria and
Kenya.”
Narrating further, Obasanjo said,
“Rumours about Abacha taking action against me
started to spread and ring louder and louder. I
had no fear because I had done nothing to cause
me fear or anxiety. I was about my life and my
business unperturbed.”
Source: Leadership

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

